OTA problem

Recurrent H/W and software problems
Post Reply
User avatar
Dompie
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2021 12:59 pm
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 8 times

OTA problem

Post by Dompie »

I want to update my ESP32-S3 with 1.70.1 CAN_DMT_VGA_HID_qio_qspi_LFS version via OTA to 1.70.2 CAN_LFS version.
After I entered the OTA Url in the Config page and started the OTA, I see in the Terminal page

Code: [Local Link Removed for Guests]

Start Auto OTA
a little further

Code: [Local Link Removed for Guests]

percent = 0
The firmware will be loaded into the partition app0 size 2293760
OTA Update Started

OTA Update failed:
Can't Switch Firmware 1
øESP-ROM:esp32s3-20210327
After that, the whole thing doesn't stop but reboots and I get hundreds of lines

Code: [Local Link Removed for Guests]

file requested /progress
File Not Found
I then erased the module and put the version 1.70.1 back in its entirety and then tried the OTA again but that gives the same result.

Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Attached is the Config page fill-in for the OTA start and two screenshots with Terminal output.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
cicciocb
Site Admin
Posts: 2626
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 1:15 pm
Location: Toulouse
Has thanked: 549 times
Been thanked: 1861 times
Contact:

Re: OTA problem

Post by cicciocb »

Probably, when you flashed the module, you did not selected the OTA partition

This message means that the OTA is not installed

Code: [Local Link Removed for Guests]

OTA Update failed:
Can't Switch Firmware 1
You must reflash the module and add the OTA partition
image.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Dompie
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2021 12:59 pm
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: OTA problem

Post by Dompie »

I did everything again, Erase, Firmware + OTA instal, then via config page OTA start but again an OTA failed.
So it must be somewhere else, something I'm not doing right

Below are prints of the entire process.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
cicciocb
Site Admin
Posts: 2626
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 1:15 pm
Location: Toulouse
Has thanked: 549 times
Been thanked: 1861 times
Contact:

Re: OTA problem

Post by cicciocb »

Hi,
the reason is much simpler than you can imagine :D .

Looking at picture you posted
image.png
You are using the wrong link (the one for the esp32).

The correct one is :

Code: [Local Link Removed for Guests]

http://updates.cicciocb.com/d.php?f=esp32s3/Annex32-S3_BLE_CAN_DMT_VGA_HID_1.70.2_qio_opi_LFS.bin
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Dompie
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2021 12:59 pm
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: OTA problem

Post by Dompie »

Ohhh how incredibly stupid!!!!!! :oops: :oops: :oops:
I found it strange that the name was not exactly the same but I did not look at the type ESP32.
Now this is a very real beginners mistake but very instructive!!
Will do the OTA tomorrow with the correct file.
Thank you cicciobc.
User avatar
Dompie
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2021 12:59 pm
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: OTA problem

Post by Dompie »

The correct file is not the solution for my problem. After I erased the ESP32-S3 and provided it with 1.70.1 qspi.lfs again I selected the correct OTA (without USB) and started it in the config page. The result is still:

Code: [Local Link Removed for Guests]

OTA Update Started

OTA Update failed:
Can't Switch Firmware 1
Has anyone else done an OTA of a S3 (N16R8) from 1.70.1 to 1.70.2?
Any good ideas?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
cicciocb
Site Admin
Posts: 2626
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 1:15 pm
Location: Toulouse
Has thanked: 549 times
Been thanked: 1861 times
Contact:

Re: OTA problem

Post by cicciocb »

Have you done 'Save" after the change of the url?

I flash my modules in this way every day for the development so, yes, the OTA works.
User avatar
Dompie
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2021 12:59 pm
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: OTA problem

Post by Dompie »

YESSSSSSS how simple can it be!!!! Just press <Save> and everything works like a charm.
Stupid, I have already discovered that you not only have to fill in a field but also have to save!!
Only now I didn't think of it for a moment.

Thank you ciccioCB for also having time for this rather stupid mistake.
User avatar
cicciocb
Site Admin
Posts: 2626
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 1:15 pm
Location: Toulouse
Has thanked: 549 times
Been thanked: 1861 times
Contact:

Re: OTA problem

Post by cicciocb »

[Local Link Removed for Guests] wrote: [Local Link Removed for Guests]Wed Nov 27, 2024 11:30 am YESSSSSSS how simple can it be!!!! Just press <Save> and everything works like a charm.
Stupid, I have already discovered that you not only have to fill in a field but also have to save!!
Only now I didn't think of it for a moment.

Thank you ciccioCB for also having time for this rather stupid mistake.
Don't worry, you are not stupid at all, you are just learning. :idea:
User avatar
Dompie
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2021 12:59 pm
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: OTA problem

Post by Dompie »

[Local Link Removed for Guests] wrote: [Local Link Removed for Guests]Wed Nov 27, 2024 12:14 pm Don't worry, you are not stupid at all, you are just learning. :idea:
Yes, it is a very steep learning curve but it's great fun to work and explore with Annex. And if I don't know something, the Help or the forum is a great source of knowledge.
Post Reply