Clock/Weather station (Concept)
- Basicboy
- Posts: 107
- Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2024 11:42 am
- Location: Australia
- Has thanked: 39 times
- Been thanked: 6 times
Re: Clock/Weather station (Concept)
Just taking opinions whether I should abandon the last outer layer of weather items (clouds,zeus...etc) for a diy transparent screen
This way the rotating background and the sun/moon will be "real" but the clouds/zeus will be electronic.
This way the rotating background and the sun/moon will be "real" but the clouds/zeus will be electronic.
I love this community!
- PeterN
- Posts: 521
- Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 7:56 pm
- Location: Krefeld, Germany
- Has thanked: 248 times
- Been thanked: 272 times
- Contact:
Re: Clock/Weather station (Concept)
More a bug than a feature ...
… happened today when I retrieved a long-forgotten device from an overfilled storage box
It's an ordinary ILI9341 and is perhaps a bit cheaper than the poor butchered display in the video
… happened today when I retrieved a long-forgotten device from an overfilled storage box
It's an ordinary ILI9341 and is perhaps a bit cheaper than the poor butchered display in the video
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
- Basicboy
- Posts: 107
- Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2024 11:42 am
- Location: Australia
- Has thanked: 39 times
- Been thanked: 6 times
Re: Clock/Weather station (Concept)
I am slowly getting ready to taking a shot at this.
I got my slow DC motors and IR sensors. I also purchased miniatures of medieval sun and moon and a nice bell (for bell banging every hour) and I am also sorting out batteries for the project.
I also decided that the top layer of weather elements will be handled by servos so I bought a bunch of these.
I am getting AI to draw a medieval landscape for me. It's looking good (but not perfect) but the real problem is that microsoft copilot has set size dimensions and I don't like it.
I want something that is way wider sideways but narrower than this.
I got my slow DC motors and IR sensors. I also purchased miniatures of medieval sun and moon and a nice bell (for bell banging every hour) and I am also sorting out batteries for the project.
I also decided that the top layer of weather elements will be handled by servos so I bought a bunch of these.
I am getting AI to draw a medieval landscape for me. It's looking good (but not perfect) but the real problem is that microsoft copilot has set size dimensions and I don't like it.
I want something that is way wider sideways but narrower than this.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
I love this community!
- Basicboy
- Posts: 107
- Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2024 11:42 am
- Location: Australia
- Has thanked: 39 times
- Been thanked: 6 times
Re: Clock/Weather station (Concept)
So artwise, I want it based on the flammarion engraving
except that the entire "sky dome" should be visible.
But since the artwork here is very limited, I'll have to "recreate" it by getting AI to draw every part separartely, a medieval landscape and two "spiritual worlds" on the outside of the bubble earth. problem is that AI is not giving me the dimensions that I need and I'm left wondering how the overall look can be realised. Not exactly ESP32 related, but still the project is mainly artistic so yeah!
except that the entire "sky dome" should be visible.
But since the artwork here is very limited, I'll have to "recreate" it by getting AI to draw every part separartely, a medieval landscape and two "spiritual worlds" on the outside of the bubble earth. problem is that AI is not giving me the dimensions that I need and I'm left wondering how the overall look can be realised. Not exactly ESP32 related, but still the project is mainly artistic so yeah!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
I love this community!
- Basicboy
- Posts: 107
- Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2024 11:42 am
- Location: Australia
- Has thanked: 39 times
- Been thanked: 6 times
Re: Clock/Weather station (Concept)
I bought a 5V slow DC motor to roll the background but I don't know how to connect it to ESP32. I know it's such an embarrassingly simply question, but I think I'll need advice here
I love this community!
- PeterN
- Posts: 521
- Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 7:56 pm
- Location: Krefeld, Germany
- Has thanked: 248 times
- Been thanked: 272 times
- Contact:
Re: Clock/Weather station (Concept)
An extremely extensive topic that will lead to further questions. I hope this can help you a little
https://picaxe.com/docs/picaxe_manual3.pdf
Attention: the Picaxe has 5V outputs, the ESP32 has 3V3, which can be important under certain circumstances
https://picaxe.com/docs/picaxe_manual3.pdf
Attention: the Picaxe has 5V outputs, the ESP32 has 3V3, which can be important under certain circumstances
-
- Posts: 446
- Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 2:17 pm
- Location: South coast UK
- Has thanked: 239 times
- Been thanked: 137 times
Re: Clock/Weather station (Concept)
Most of the PICAXE variants can run on 3v3, so it should be possible to integrate ESP and PICAXE easily. Just pick the right one.
I rarely frequent PICAXE these days (though I am still a moderator there) but please have a good browse on their forum.
It covers a lot of hardware issues, not just code. You might also recognise a few user names!
To run a 5v motor from an ESP just requires 1 transistor + 1 resistor + 1 catch diode.
I rarely frequent PICAXE these days (though I am still a moderator there) but please have a good browse on their forum.
It covers a lot of hardware issues, not just code. You might also recognise a few user names!
To run a 5v motor from an ESP just requires 1 transistor + 1 resistor + 1 catch diode.
- PeterN
- Posts: 521
- Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 7:56 pm
- Location: Krefeld, Germany
- Has thanked: 248 times
- Been thanked: 272 times
- Contact:
Re: Clock/Weather station (Concept)
Hi BeanieBots
The picaxes only came into play because of the well-described interfaces in the picaxe manuals.
My 5V/3V3 remark was just a hint that the pixaxe interface examples in the manual are designed for 5V peripherals.
However, most commercial interface boards can be operated with both 5V and 3V3 input.
The picaxes only came into play because of the well-described interfaces in the picaxe manuals.
My 5V/3V3 remark was just a hint that the pixaxe interface examples in the manual are designed for 5V peripherals.
However, most commercial interface boards can be operated with both 5V and 3V3 input.
-
- Posts: 446
- Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 2:17 pm
- Location: South coast UK
- Has thanked: 239 times
- Been thanked: 137 times
Re: Clock/Weather station (Concept)
Hi PeterN,
Your comments are sound & good advice. I was only emphasising the issue.
3v3 interfacing requires a little more attention when driving transistors because Vbc has more effect and needs to be taken into account when calculating Rb. Especially when using darlington transistors. Those bridges are easily crossed but do exist none-the-less.
Indeed, the PICAXE documents do cover the basic interfacing methods and just about every hardware issue you can think of has been covered several times within the forum. I actually believe the world of PICAXE is more about the hardware than the software, so it's a useful link.
Your comments are sound & good advice. I was only emphasising the issue.
3v3 interfacing requires a little more attention when driving transistors because Vbc has more effect and needs to be taken into account when calculating Rb. Especially when using darlington transistors. Those bridges are easily crossed but do exist none-the-less.
Indeed, the PICAXE documents do cover the basic interfacing methods and just about every hardware issue you can think of has been covered several times within the forum. I actually believe the world of PICAXE is more about the hardware than the software, so it's a useful link.