@BeanieBots since I don't see a way to disable the Brown-Out reset in Annex I have chosen a very simple solution by controlling the shutdown with a PIC12F1840. There I do have control over the Brow-Out and I can also program a PIC in Basic (Positron compiler). The circuit is operational and works flawlessly.
The circuit is a simple display in my camper that receives the power consumption from the current transformers via ESPnow. Since I am off grid a lot I want to switch off the complete circuits when not in use (this of course also applies to the current transformer circuits).
Enclosed the requested schematic (I am a civil engineer so no real electronics knowledge) but via JLCPCB I get nice, working prints.
ESP32-S3 Brownout disable
Re: ESP32-S3 Brownout disable
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Posts: 543
- Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 2:17 pm
- Location: South coast UK
- Has thanked: 304 times
- Been thanked: 173 times
Re: ESP32-S3 Brownout disable
Glad you found a solution.
As you now have a working circuit, not much point me making any further suggestions.
For any future designs, as an alternative to using a PIC12F1840, might I suggest a PICAXE 08M2.
https://picaxe.com/hardware/picaxe-chip ... ontroller/
As you now have a working circuit, not much point me making any further suggestions.
For any future designs, as an alternative to using a PIC12F1840, might I suggest a PICAXE 08M2.
https://picaxe.com/hardware/picaxe-chip ... ontroller/
- PeterN
- Posts: 704
- Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 7:56 pm
- Location: Krefeld, Germany
- Has thanked: 316 times
- Been thanked: 391 times
- Contact:
Re: ESP32-S3 Brownout disable
Hello,
I am definitely a bit late to the show, as you already have some good workarounds.
I modified the XL4015 DC/DC converter, which I noticed in Dompie’s circuit some time ago, based on a hint from the datasheet.
My circuit activates the 5V output after pressing a push button. (It could also autostart when 12V input is applied by adding a capacitor in parallel to the push button.)
It deactivates the DC converter with a single 3.3V pulse and remains in this state until the button is pressed again. Essentially, it functions as a kind of flip-flop memory.
Does this align with what you wanted to achieve?
I am definitely a bit late to the show, as you already have some good workarounds.
I modified the XL4015 DC/DC converter, which I noticed in Dompie’s circuit some time ago, based on a hint from the datasheet.
My circuit activates the 5V output after pressing a push button. (It could also autostart when 12V input is applied by adding a capacitor in parallel to the push button.)
It deactivates the DC converter with a single 3.3V pulse and remains in this state until the button is pressed again. Essentially, it functions as a kind of flip-flop memory.
Does this align with what you wanted to achieve?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Re: ESP32-S3 Brownout disable
@PeterN YES that is exactly what I wanted to achieve with my circuit. I only had to switch to 0V to switch off and because of the Brownout Reset I lost my 0V and had 3.3V again. That is the beauty of your circuit that switches off with 3.3V and even if there is a Brownout Reset the line remains 3.3V. Brilliant!
In a next project I will definitely implement your circuit.
Thank you very much!!
In a next project I will definitely implement your circuit.
Thank you very much!!
- PeterN
- Posts: 704
- Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 7:56 pm
- Location: Krefeld, Germany
- Has thanked: 316 times
- Been thanked: 391 times
- Contact:
Re: ESP32-S3 Brownout disable
Ik ben blij dat de schakeling past. Ik heb deze nu eindelijk ook eens gedocumenteerd 
Veel succes!
I'm glad that the circuit fits. Now I've finally documented it
Good luck!

Veel succes!
I'm glad that the circuit fits. Now I've finally documented it

Good luck!
-
- Posts: 543
- Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 2:17 pm
- Location: South coast UK
- Has thanked: 304 times
- Been thanked: 173 times
Re: ESP32-S3 Brownout disable
@PeterN
Ahhhh in my own native language, thank you.
I realize by your circuit that if I had replaced the N-Mosfet with an NPN transistor I could also have switched with a 3.3V signal and I would not have had my Brownout problem. Yeah, civil engineers should not really concern themselves with electronics (but it is so much fun).
Ahhhh in my own native language, thank you.
I realize by your circuit that if I had replaced the N-Mosfet with an NPN transistor I could also have switched with a 3.3V signal and I would not have had my Brownout problem. Yeah, civil engineers should not really concern themselves with electronics (but it is so much fun).
- PeterN
- Posts: 704
- Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 7:56 pm
- Location: Krefeld, Germany
- Has thanked: 316 times
- Been thanked: 391 times
- Contact:
Re: ESP32-S3 Brownout disable
I have to do my exercises for the next summer weeks of vacation in Renesse[Local Link Removed for Guests] wrote: [Local Link Removed for Guests]Thu Feb 20, 2025 6:48 pm …
Ahhhh in my own native language, thank you.
…

- PeterN
- Posts: 704
- Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 7:56 pm
- Location: Krefeld, Germany
- Has thanked: 316 times
- Been thanked: 391 times
- Contact:
Re: ESP32-S3 Brownout disable
Yes, my first idea was to look for an EN pin. Luckily, most peripherals have one of these today. The datasheet provided the missing hint. One of my favorite teachers used to say: You don’t need to know everything, just where to find the information.[Local Link Removed for Guests] wrote: [Local Link Removed for Guests]Thu Feb 20, 2025 6:38 pm Quite a 'cratfy' idea, using the FB input as an 'enable'.